Erase Your Criminal Record
buryyourpast-logo.png

Oklahoma Expungement Blog

Our latest victories and things you should know. 

Expunged - 2013 - Possession of Marijuana - Oklahoma County

While there are a lot of people who advocate for the legalization of marijuana, it is not legal in Oklahoma at this time. Don't let a misdemeanor deferred or a misdemeanor suspended sentence prohibit you from getting an education, applying for a job, or volunteering. 

Call the lawyers at www.buryyourpast.com at (405) 232-0000 or at (918) 409-0417. 

The statute governing marijuana in Oklahoma is as follows:

Multiple Amendments Enacted in 2016

Version 1 (as amended by Laws 2016, HB 2479, c. 220, § 1, eff. November 1, 2016)

A. 1. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to possess a controlled dangerous substance unless such substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his or her professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by this act.

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase any preparation excepted from the provisions of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act pursuant to Section 2-313 of this title in an amount or within a time interval other than that permitted by Section 2-313 of this title.

3. It shall be unlawful for any person or business to sell, market, advertise or label any product containing ephedrine, its salts, optical isomers, or salts of optical isomers, for the indication of stimulation, mental alertness, weight loss, appetite control, muscle development, energy or other indication which is not approved by the pertinent federal OTC Final Monograph, Tentative Final Monograph, or FDA-approved new drug application or its legal equivalent. In determining compliance with this requirement, the following factors shall be considered:

a. the packaging of the product,

b. the name of the product, and

c. the distribution and promotion of the product, including verbal representations made at the point of sale.

B. Any person who violates this section with respect to:

1. Any Schedule I or II substance, except marijuana or a substance included in subsection D of Section 2-206 of this title, is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than five (5) years and by a fine not exceeding Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00). A second violation of this section with respect to a Schedule I or II substance, except marijuana or a substance included in subsection D of Section 2-206 of this title, is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years and by a fine not exceeding Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00). A third or subsequent violation of this section with respect to a Schedule I or II substance, except marijuana or a substance included in subsection D of Section 2-206 of this title, is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not less than four (4) years nor more than fifteen (15) years and by a fine not exceeding Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00);

2. Any Schedule III, IV or V substance, marijuana, a substance included in subsection D of Section 2-206 of this title, or any preparation excepted from the provisions of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by confinement for not more than one (1) year and by a fine not exceeding One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00);

3. Any Schedule III, IV or V substance, marijuana, a substance included in subsection D of Section 2-206 of this title, or any preparation excepted from the provisions of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act and who, during the period of any court-imposed probationary term or within ten (10) years of the date following the completion of the execution of any sentence or deferred judgment for a violation of this section, commits a second or subsequent violation of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not less than one (1) year nor more than five (5) years and by a fine not exceeding Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00); or

4. Any Schedule III, IV or V substance, marijuana, a substance included in subsection D of Section 2-206 of this title, or any preparation excepted from the provisions of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act and who, ten (10) or more years following the date of completion of the execution of any sentence or deferred judgment for a violation of this section, commits a second or subsequent violation of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not less than one (1) year nor more than five (5) years and by a fine not exceeding Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00).

C. Any person who violates any provision of this section by possessing or purchasing a controlled dangerous substance from any person, in or on, or within one thousand (1,000) feet of the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school, public vocational school, public or private college or university, or other institution of higher education, recreation center or public park, including state parks and recreation areas, or in the presence of any child under twelve (12) years of age, shall be guilty of a felony and punished by:

1. For a first offense, a term of imprisonment, or by the imposition of a fine, or by both, not exceeding twice that authorized by the appropriate provision of this section. In addition, the person shall serve a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of the sentence received prior to becoming eligible for state correctional institution earned credits toward the completion of said sentence; or

2. For a second or subsequent offense, a term of imprisonment not exceeding three times that authorized by the appropriate provision of this section and the person shall serve a minimum of ninety percent (90%) of the sentence received prior to becoming eligible for state correctional institution earned credits toward the completion of said sentence, and imposition of a fine not exceeding Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00).

D. Any person convicted of any offense described in this section shall, in addition to any fine imposed, pay a special assessment trauma-care fee of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) to be deposited into the Trauma Care Assistance Revolving Fund created in Section 1-2530.9 of this title.

Version 2 (as amended by Section 3, State Question 780, Initiative Petition 404, adopted at election held November 8, 2016, effective July 1, 2017)

1. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to possess a controlled dangerous substance unless such substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his or her professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by this act.

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase any preparation excepted from the provisions of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act pursuant to Section 2-313 of this title in an amount or within a time interval other than that permitted by Section 2-313 of this title.

3. It shall be unlawful for any person or business to sell, market, advertise or label any product containing ephedrine, its salts, optical isomers, or salts of optical isomers, for the indication of stimulation, mental alertness, weight loss, appetite control, muscle development, energy or other indication which is not approved by the pertinent federal OTC Final Monograph, Tentative Final Monograph, or FDA-approved new drug application or its legal equivalent. In determining compliance with this requirement, the following factors shall be considered:

a. the packaging of the product,

b. the name of the product, and

c. the distribution and promotion of the product, including verbal representations made at the point of sale.

B. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by confinement for not more than one (1) year and by a fine not exceeding One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00).

C. Any person convicted of any offense described in this section shall, in addition to any fine imposed, pay a special assessment trauma-care fee of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) to be deposited into the Trauma Care Assistance Revolving Fund created in Section 1-2530.9 of this title.

deferred expungement.jpg